Weedy PP1439

Our adoption process

qode-np-item

Find a friend

qode-np-item

Register your details

qode-np-item

Process your application

qode-np-item

Best friends forever

Hi, I’m Weedy

PP number: PP1439

 

Name: Weedy

 

Species: Orange-Winged Amazon

 

Adoption fee: £300

 

Cage Supplied: No, a new one will be needed

 

Introduction:

Hi! My name is Weedy, a beautiful Orange-Winged Amazon parrot. I was a little loud for the first few days that I was in my safehouse, but now I’m more settled, I’m actually quite quiet for an Amazon! I like to make a little noise around 10am and 4pm for around 20 minutes. I’m great with other animals and children, everyone loves me. I’m a gentle bird and I take treats from human hands very calmly.

 

History/Background:

Not much is known about me as I came into Problem Parrots as a found bird, but you can tell I had a loving family before because I’m so gentle.

 

Current Presentation:

I am a beautiful, fully-feathered parrot with stunning colours.

 

Training:

I settled into my safehouse really quickly and everyone could hold me by the end of the week. I can step up well and I like to follow safehouse people around. I’m scared of sticks, however, so I haven’t been so good at touch/target training and this will require more work. It is possible to use my favourite toys to move me to somewhere I need to be.

 

Diet:

I’m on a diet of AS30 seed mix and fresh fruit and vegetables. I’m not a big vegetables lover besides cucumber and sweetcorn, but I really like red grapes and bananas! I love to eat almonds as a treat.

 

Enrichment:

I love watching the world go by and interacting with lots of different people. When it’s nice and sunny, I love spending time in my cage outside. I have lots of toys to play with and love playing ‘peekaboo!’ or singing as I watch outside from my window perch. I am a good flyer and enjoy flying in circles around my room, as well as watching cartoons and showing all my pretty colours off when music is played. I like to be out my cage but I’m happy to stay in when nobody is able to supervise me.

 

Summary:

Weedy is a found bird so will be available as a long-term foster. Weedy would suit a family where he can get lots of attention and meet lots of people. He will need a carer who is at home a lot of the time so he can really flourish. He is great with children; he currently lives with two teenage boys and he enjoys it when people come to visit him. He is a very friendly bird, and with the right love and attention, he has the potential to make a great family companion.

 

Location: Middlesbrough

Are you interested in rehoming me?

Click on the button below and fill out the application form to register your interest in adopting me, thank-you.