Buddy ~ PP1335

Our adoption process

qode-np-item

Find a friend

qode-np-item

Register your details

qode-np-item

Process your application

qode-np-item

Best friends forever

Hi, I’m Buddy

PP number: PP1335

 

Name: Buddy

 

Species: African Grey

 

Adoption fee: £300

 

Description: 

 

Introduction

Buddy has been with us for just over a month now and we are slowly getting to know Buddy as a family.

He is settling in nicely building in confidence day by day. Doesn’t appear to have had much interaction with humans as he is very wary of coming near people.

Progress is being made and we have high hopes that Buddy will become a wonderful companion over the coming months. Very scared and timid when he arrived but already accepting a head stroke and stepping up onto hands/arms.

Buddy has a very wide and colourful vocabulary or potty mouth as some would say, he is very vocal and great at copying particular phrases once he’s heard them a few times. He also has tantrums throwing food out his cage whilst swearing, we are yet to discover what triggers this behaviour.

 

Current Presentation

Buddy came to us with a rather rough and ragged look. He appears to be plucking feathers from neck down. We have added toys and try to keep him occupied with time out the cage and newspaper to shred. Over time we will be able to see if this improves with the more settled and comfortable he feels with us.

 

Training

No training as yet, allowing Buddy time to settle and in his own time build confidence with hand contact. Have managed a head stroke a few times so far and getting better with stepping up. Once on our shoulder or arm, he will happily stay there for long periods of time.

 

Diet

Before Buddy arrived with us he was previously on a poor diet consisting of digestive biscuits, mini cheddars and blackcurrant squash. We have since introduced AS30 which he absolutely loves. He is also great at trying new things such as apple, cucumber, grapes, strawberries and carrots.

We treat him with cashew nuts and walnuts which he loves.

 

Summary

Buddy has a wonderful personality beginning to show and seems to have a lot of love to give. We can see him fitting into family life well. We are a family of four with a 9 and 12-year-old who Buddy has sat with and taken food from. Watch this space for progress updates and pictures of this beautiful boy.

 

Location: Essex

Are you interested in rehoming me?

Click on the button below and fill out the application form to register your interest in adopting me, thank-you.