Bertie-pp1375

Our adoption process

qode-np-item

Find a friend

qode-np-item

Register your details

qode-np-item

Process your application

qode-np-item

Best friends forever

Hi, I’m Bertie

PP number: PP1187

 

Name: Bertie

 

Species: jenday conure

 

Adoption fee: £200

 

Introduction:

 

Hi, I’m Bertie, a beautiful Jenday Conure. As an older gent I’m not as active as I used to be but I still love the
finer things in life – a toy to shred, some chopped apple and a perch near a window where I can watch the world go by.
I don’t have a preference for male or female carers and I like to listen to the small people in my safe house chat to me. I really don’t like hands and while I’ll happily take food from you, I’ll let you know if I think your hands are too close by squawking and I may try to nip. Otherwise I’m quite chilled out and not particularly noisy.
There are other birds here in my safe house. I haven’t really met them except for when one flew in the room where I am and I was quite wary.

History/Background:

I’m between 20-25 years old. My previous owner sadly passed away. I went to live with his granddaughter for a while who bought me a brilliant new cage and lots of toys but there was a dog in the house and I couldn’t come out very often so she decided to let me find a new family.

Current Presentation:
I’m almost completely fully feathered. I’ve been known to pluck under my wings and my legs in the past – I’ve been in a heavy moult since arriving in the charity so it’s difficult for SH mum to see whether I’ve been up to this recently. I’ll need plenty of toys to keep me busy and distracted to try and prevent further plucking. I like to have a bath around once a week, but I really do not like being sprayed.
I can fly a little but I find it difficult to gain height.
I also have a past injury to my foot which has healed but my two back toes don’t work very well and point forwards. The vet thinks in the past I may have only had dowel perches which injured my foot over time. I can get around just fine, but I’m a little slower walking and I’ll need to be watched very carefully on rugs and carpets as my nails can get caught more easily.

Training:
I enjoy the company of people but I’m nervous about hands and do not like being handled. Safe house Mum has been focusing getting me used to having hands around me and you would need to continue this so I can eventually learn to step up. (I’ll occasionally step up onto a perch but I’m not keen on that either!)

 

Diet:

I’m quite “old school” with my diet – I’ve eaten a standard parrot seed mix all my life and I’m not that interested in trying much else this is a ongoing battle and sh mum is trying to convert me on to a better quality seed this will need to be kept up with  I do sometimes tuck in to the fruit and veg chop SH mum makes – especially if it has apple in it – and for
occasional treats I love a little bit of toast.

Enrichment:

I LOVE shredding toys! I have lots of them in my cage and will happily play with them by myself. I also love shredding cardboard and newspaper – I love to hide under the newspaper at the bottom of my cage. I don’t seem bothered by foraging toys or foot toys (I find these hard to hold). I also love to watch out of the window.

Summary:
Bertie was quite shy when he arrived but he’s coming out of his shell. He’s a handsome little gent who’s easy to care for although he doesn’t like being handled he does enjoy human company and will sit and listen to whoever is chatting to him.
He’s quiet for a conure – he’ll squawk occasionally but that’s it. His injured foot doesn’t stop him from getting around and enjoying his toys and when he’s not playing he’s snoozing under the newspaper!
Bertie has no preference for male or female carers and would be happy in a home with or without children. He doesn’t seem too bothered by the other birds in safe house, but his previous owners reported that he wasn’t sure about their dog.
It’s lovely looking after him and I think he’ll be a great addition to a kind and patient family.

 

Location: Reading

Are you interested in rehoming me?

Click on the button below and fill out the application form to register your interest in adopting me, thank-you.