Barney ~ PP1047 Applications now closed!

Our adoption process

qode-np-item

Find a friend

qode-np-item

Register your details

qode-np-item

Process your application

qode-np-item

Best friends forever

Hi, I’m Barney

PP number: PP1047

 

Name: Barney

 

Species: Congo African Grey

 

Cage supplied: Yes

 

Adoption fee: CITES

 

Description: 

Introduction:

Hi, my name is Barney i’m a 16 year old female African Grey. I’ve been in my safehouse about a month now, I do like it here and I like my safehouse mum. I am more of a ladies bird and love tickles and scratches from my safehouse mum on my
terms and you have to learn my mood but generally im happy for a tickle or two. I love to bop away on my safehouse mums arm. My dad well hes allowed to bribe me with a bit of dried banana or a small bit of toast but I wont let him tickle me yet but he does keep trying. I am a little chatter box and my favourite words are go barney go barney, I have telephone conversations with my self and my favourite is imitating a dogs squeaky toy. I’m a very funny girl when I get going. I love my time out of the cage and out time is very important to me so I don’t get bored. In my last home I had problems picking new feathers on my tail and making them bleed but in my safe house this has hardly happened and my mum says she thinks this is a behavioural issue and this is why I need lots of time out so I don’t get bored.

History/Background:

I was in my previous home for much of my life and had to leave due to change in circumstances and through no fault of my own.

Current Presentation:

Barney is doing really well here and has fitted in perfectly with all the other birds, she was wary to start with but has really found her feet, we have a little dog and his presence does not bother Barney. He’s not met any little people yet so cant comment on what he would make to them.

Training:

My mum has been teaching me to step up and I prefer to step onto a covered arm, something mum has been working on is my hormones as I can get quite hormonal around the lady of the house and try and feed her hand, mum has discouraged this so this sort of behaviour needs watching.

Diet:

I love my food and I currently eat tidymix, chop, soaking beans, i’m not that fussed with nuts but I do like a bit of dried banana and I love my fresh veg and fruit especially sugar snap peas. I like apple and grape and partial bit of toast once in a while.

Enrichment:

I have lots of toys in my cage and my swing is my favourite, I sleep on my swing and when i’m ready for bed I get on my swing and tell my mum na na night.

Summary:

I’m a very happy girl and love interaction and lots of out of cage time, I need a confident female handler in case I have any issues with my tail feathers, I’m a fully feathered beautiful grey that would bring a lovely lady so much joy. I’m OK with men but as yet they cant touch me.

 

Location: Norfolk 

Are you interested in rehoming me?

Click on the button below and fill out the application form to register your interest in adopting me, thank-you.